The aims of the PSHE Curriculum at Whittle Academy are:

  • To promote mental health awareness and to inspire a ‘love of life’
  • To develop knowledge of how to stay healthy and safe both physically and mentally
  • To prepare our children for life and work in modern Britain by developing an understanding of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and respect for and tolerance of faiths and beliefs
  • To participate in a wide range of discussions and events which raise further awareness of the local community and the wider world.

Delivering the PSHE Curriculum at Whittle Academy:

Our PSHE curriculum is carefully delivered through weekly discrete PSHE lessons.

In Nursery and Reception, learning experiences support children in developing their personal, social and emotional skills.  Warm relationships with adults enable our children to learn how to understand their own feelings and those of others.  Children learn how to make good friends, to cooperate and resolve conflicts.

In Years 1-6, we follow the ‘Jigsaw’ PSHE programme, which includes engaging units of work covering themes such as ‘Being Me in my World’ and ‘Dreams and Goals’.

PSHE is also embedded into other areas of the curriculum and day-to-day life of the academy though: School Council, Eco-Warriors, visiting local care homes, residential visits, working with the town council and supporting community events.

Relationships and Sex Education (RSE):

RSE is a mandatory part of children’s schooling. RSE is about the emotional, social and cultural development of pupils, and involves learning about relationships, sexual health, sexuality, healthy lifestyles, diversity and personal identity in an aged and staged appropriate way.

‘No Outsiders in Our School’ Programme:

We also teach content from the ‘No Outsiders in Our School’ programme of study which sensitively teach the children about the Equality Act (2010) through age-appropriate fictional stories. These sessions sensitively cover Relationships Education and teach children that it is against the law to discriminate against anyone because of:

  • Age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage or civil partnership
  • pregnancy or maternity
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation